Listen Now:  

10th Annual Briscoe Awards Sunday in South Philly

Posted on 10/14/2017

By: Ken Hissner

Philly Boxing History Editor John Di Santo is holding the 10th Annual Briscoe Awards Sunday 1-4pm at the Xfinity Live at 1100 Pattison Avenue in South Philly. Former 2-time Cruiserweight champion Steve “USS” Cunningham will be hosting the event. There is a $5 admission price and can be purchased at or call 609-377-6413.

The Bennie Briscoe bronze statue will be given and the Briscoe Medal along with other awards to Philly boxing. Former world champion Bernard “Be-Hop” Hopkins will receive a special award with his retiring.

The Dashon Johnson and Jesse “Hard Work” Hart fight will be honored as the “Fight of the Year”. Others receiving awards will be now former WBA champion Jason Sosa as the “Philly Fighter of 2016” for going to China and stopping champion Javier Fortuna in the 11th round and defending his title against the UK’s Stephen Smith 5 months later in Monte Carlo.

Philly super middleweight Taneal Goyco will receive the “Upset of the Year” award defeating rising MD star Jerry Odom. It was the second straight year Goyco received this award. Tyron Brunson will be receiving an award for “the Knockout of the Year” after rising from the canvas from two knockdowns to knockout Puerto Rico’s Carlos Garcia Hernandez.

Others receiving awards will be Tevin “American Idol” Farmer who will receive awards for “Performance of the Year” and “Prospect of the Year”.

Former Philly welterweight Gil Turner will receive the Philly Gravestone. Jaron “Boots” Ennis, Christian Carto, Dylan Price and Damon “Little Dane” Allen will also be on hand receiving awards.

Leave a Comment

More Boxing History

Listen to my podcast


Established in 1997 as a premier boxing destination. The staff of love hearing from people all over the world.



Send this to a friend