Cooper vs. Blake Announced as Main Event of K1 US Grand Prix


By Eugene Sirota

Blessed with an affable smile and heavy hands, Randy Blake (23-0), of Tulsa, OK, is an excellent ambassador for K1.

But before Blake can be anointed as kickboxing’s American savior, he will have to get by the dangerous Dewey Cooper (49-13-2, 28 KOs) in the main event of this this Saturday’s K-1 U.S. World Grand Prix Championship in Los Angeles.

While Blake is younger and more athletic, Cooper has a wealth of experience to bank on. Cooper comes into this fight with the confidence of a man who has fought professionally a whopping 87 times (winning 70) when you take into account his kickboxing, boxing, and MMA careers.

Brooklyn’s Jerrell Miller (19-0, 8 KOs) takes on 6’8″ striker Jack May (4-0) of Chino Hills, CA, in the co-feature. If you are a New York boxing fan, Miller may already be on your radar. The former NYC Golden Gloves finalist has amassed a 3-0 record as a pro boxer at NY club venues Plattduetsche Park Restaurant, Roseland Ballroom and Cordon Bleu in Woodhaven.

Living legend, Rick Roufus (63-9-1, 43 KOs), will show what’s left in his 46-year-old tank when he battles local fan favorite Mighty Mo (16-17, 12 KOs) in the second Grand Prix match of the evening. These two were supposed to fight a year ago in Vegas for the IKF title, but Mo failed to pass his Nevada State physical.

Fighting in front of a hometown crowd should be a welcome change for Mo. 2011 saw Mo travel Russia, Romania, Australia and Japan, getting kayoed on each of those trips.

Rounding out the Grand Prix matchups is up and coming 22-year old Xaiver Vigney (10-1) against Kimbo-conqueror, Seth Petruzelli (15-6, 12 KOs in MMA).

Prelim bouts live and free on Spike.com at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT MAX Card, Superfights and U.S. Grand Prix Championship ($9.99) live on Spike.com at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT.

Leave a Comment

More Headlines